Skip to main content
7th March 21
Trail : home / Leadership & Management : Emotional health and well being

Emotional health and well being

SEAL- gone but not forgotten

|

The National Strategy SEAL programme produced many resources whic are still relevant for schools when working with children at both Primary and Secondary  level. Searching for the archived materials gives many hits in various locations. Start with  the link below whihc takes you  to  the National Archives:

 

http://webarchive.nationalarchives.gov.uk/20110812101121tf_/http://nsonline.org.uk/node/87009

The resource booklet here was developed under the SEAL project. It remains relevant in terms of incorporating EHWB messages and themes into  the wider curriculum although curriculum content is now differnet in some cases.

Core subject lesson plans for SEAL - English
Exemplar lesson plans and medium term planning sheets can be found here to support the delivery of SEAL within English
NS Y8 exemplar
Y8 English NS exemplar
Y8 resources

Core subject lesson plans for SEAL- Science
Exemplar lesson plans and medium term planning sheets can be found here to support the delivery of SEAL within Science
Y8 Science NS exemplar
NS Y8 Science
NS Y8 Science
NS Y8 Science
Y8 resources
Y8 resources

Humanities SEAL lesson plans
Y8 Geography NS exemplar
Y8 Geography NS exemplar
Y8 Geography NS exemplar
RE Y8 NS examplar
RE resouces sheet

Arts SEAL lesson plans
NS Y8 Art exemplar
Y8 PE NS exemplar

Learning environment prompt mat

SEAL form time and assembly ideas

|

Form time

SEAL can be built into form time through:

  • specific activities linked to a half termly focus and supported through assembly and PSHCE focus
  • developing a nurturing ethos
  • developing SEAL rewards and opportunities to celebrate success

 

 

 

 

 

 

Activities can be adapted from the themed booklets below and also from the small group work activities.
Example form time SEAL programme
Example form time SEAL programme - Cumbria

Small group work

|

This can be very effective in supporting those pupils for whom a universal teaching of SEAL skills is not adequate. These pupils are often identified through PASS/NFER data.

The Primary SEAL silver set materials can be adapted to support small group interventions. The attached NS produced Secondary materials can also support this work. In some cases these materials can be adapted for use during form time.

Primary Silver set-small group work activities
Secondary NS small group resources 1
Secondary NS small group resources 2
Secondary NS small group resources 3

Posters and photocards
Photocards-secondary
Be assertive poster
Chill out poster
How am I feeling?
Effective group work

Training Resources
SEAL outcomes bookmark
SEAL skills bookmark
SEAL I can statements - card sort

CAMHS - Primary Mental Health Workers
Preston

Shamaila Iqbal - shamaila.iqbal@lancashire.nhs.uk

Lancaster and Morecambe

Sam Harding - sam.harding@lancashire.nhs.uk
Wendy Hart - wendy.hart@lancashire.nhs.uk
Joy Holmes - joy.holmes@lancashire.nhs.uk

Fylde and Wyre

Joanne Collins - joanne.collins@lancashire.nhs.uk
Lucy Fennucciu - lucy.fennucciu@lancashire.nhs.uk
Elizabeth Loftus - elizabeth.loftus@lancashire.nhs.uk

Chorley and South Ribble

Michelle Taylor - michelle.taylor2@lancashire.nhs.uk

West Lancashire

Dawn Meakin - dawn.meakin@lancashire.nhs.uk
Caroline Owens - caroline.owens@lancashire.nhs.uk

East Lancashire (ELCAS)

Aliki Mavraki (covers HRV) - aliki.mavraki@elht.nhs.uk
Donna Hindle (covers HRV) - donna.hindle@elht.nhs.uk
Helen Capstick (covers BwD) - helen.capstick@elht.nhs.uk
Laura Winckley (covers BwD) - laura.winckley@elht.nhs.uk
Lisa Robinson (covers B&P) - lisa.robinson@elht.nhs.uk
Hayley McHugh (covers B&P) - hayley.mchugh@elht.nhs.uk